Tanka Home

The bustle and noise
In the vast concrete jungle
Where I send my Eye
And the thousands of people
Make me feel as if I’m home

Each face is a joy
Like seeing a lost uncle
They all seem to smile
Peace, greater than a temple
Makes me feel as if I’m home

And all through the night
On a warm tatami bed
The moon lights my face
Reminding me of no past
Now I feel as if I’m home

Even in the light
As I listen to the dead
The wind on my face
Creating new dreams to grasp
Here, I feel as if I’m home

The sun is rising
Over a green mountain top
Into the valley
I feel the warm, sticky air
At last, I have found my home

One thought on “Tanka Home

Leave a Reply

