To Mother

Jeannie,

I took some pictures for you

Of travels abroad – of a world in wonder

And, Lo! My tableau you’ve yet to regard

Clutched pearls and emeralds – such ephemeral canards

 

Jeannie,

I’ve fashioned some wings for you

For flying on high about Apollo’s muse

To Sing! in his choir basked in sun

Beeswax and feathers – gather dust and exhaust

 

Jeannie,

I’ve written some letters for you

Of rivers all winds – of kindle adrift

And Behold! Dear Silver did I include

Take Care-on your travels – Dear mother, Adieu

Leave a Reply

