Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on You in Ferguson

The Civil Rights Act is 50 years old. These two pictures were taken 50 years apart. Behold our progress. #Ferguson

The Civil Rights Act is 50 years old. These two pictures were taken 50 years apart. Behold our progress. #Ferguson

 

I’m trying really, really hard to find words for what’s going on in Ferguson, Missouri right now, but I’m failing to find them.  It breaks my heart.

It breaks my heart to see a community suffer, to be denied their rights, to be treated like “fucking animals,” to be gassed, to have sniper rifles trained on them, to not be able to assemble and protest, to be denied life, liberty, and happiness.

It breaks my heart to see my home, my country treat people, human beings, our brothers and sisters of every color, creed, faith, and station to dishonorably.  It breaks my heart to not be able to recognize my U.S.A.

It breaks my heart that this isn’t new; this is the reality that many of my countrymen and women face everyday.  Yes, we’re paying attention now, but how many Michael Browns, John Crawfords, and Ezell Fords die without the country’s greater notice?

This is not freedom.  Shooting unarmed men is not freedom.  Killing unarmed men is not freedom.  Arresting journalists is not freedom.  Oppression by police is not freedom.  Living a life terrorized by those who are supposed to serve and protect our communities is not freedom.

Without justice, how can there be peace?

Fifty years and what do we have to show
Don’t let the sun go down on you in Ferguson
“You’d best be gettin’ home”

Leave a Reply

