I live in a nation of mirrors

Embed from Getty Images

I live in a nation of mirrors
Others see themselves, I see me
Or, at least, what we think
– their reflections to be
And behind the mirror – ruffled husks
Serviced and bowed – bent and rust
Exhausted and dehydrated
– awash in a salted sea

Never what we are
What we are in-conceived
Once dewombed consumed by Moloch’s machine
– Dissonant; devoid; paranoid androids
– without rest or right or peace
A consonant chorus of ii (いい)

A nation of mirrors; opinion – disease
– no break from the cycle
– each dissent an idol
– golden calf hidden
Deviation divination ’til concurs society

From top to bottom; from grave to cradle
Should one cog falter come Moloch’s ravel
And I the willing, exotic participant
Heating sand to a more perfect reflection
As diseased as I be
It’s here I find haven

No one sees me
– am I craven?

5 thoughts on “I live in a nation of mirrors

Leave a Reply

